The Modern Minimalist

April 30, 2012 § 6 Comments

I’ve been without a cell phone for so long now that I hardly remember what it was like to have one. I’ve enjoyed the cost savings, and have found that our circumstances really only require one cell phone for our whole family – and it doesn’t have to be mine.

The problem I’ve been having lately, strictly from a minimalist perspective, is that when we hit the road, trail or beach, we cart along all of these things: A photo camera, my Flip camera for videos, one or two birding guides, George’s cell phone, an iPod for music and a GPS for geocaching. Sometimes we forget one of these items, causing much stress and anguish. Other times the batteries die, causing anger, frustration and swearing.

The upshot is that I’m thinking that my modern mode of minimalism might make me a candidate for a smartphone. A smartphone would allow me to have all of these things in one compact unit.

I bristle at the idea of sending any more of my hard-earned dollars to the House of Jobs, and I reeeallly hate the idea of a monthly fee for the dubious privilege of having a phone that seems just so consumery. But I love the idea of having just the one thing. It seems more minimal than what I’m currently doing. In fact, when I was playing with George’s sister’s iPhone at the birthday dinner, taking photos, videos and getting names for the constellations (coolest thing ever!) on one screen, I found myself really liking it for its simplicity.

I also really like the idea of Instagram. That sounds like fun, and it could be good for the blog. Right now, uploading photos is such a chore that you’ve probably noticed that I stopped doing it altogether.

So what’s a modern minimalist to do? Succumb to the consumer trappings found in iPhones, Droids, Noids or whatever phones are out there? Or be the last remaining non-smartphone user on the planet?

I would tell you to call me with your answers, but, well, I don’t have a phone.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The Modern Minimalist

  • Kandice says:

    I came over to the iPhone dark side in December. My children showed me how to use it. I love mine. Still don’t have a clue what instagram is.

  • Adam says:

    Smart phones definitely make it unnecessary to carry many physical objects during excursions like the one you described. I would suggest getting one. If you don’t want to give your money to Apple, buy an Android phone.

  • This probably doesn’t help, but you’re not the only non-smartphone owner out there. I just upgraded this year to a cell with a texting keyboard. But it’s only $10 per month and I don’t have a landline. I don’t think there is anything wrong with getting a smartphone if it meets your needs. You’re obviously not buying the newest thing. You might want to check out some of the alternative services besides the main provider. My boyfriend has a pretty cheap plan through Page Plus. Or try and iPod touch.

  • Starlet says:

    I don’t have a smartphone and don’t plan to buy one. I have the simplist and smallest phone I could find on pay as you go. My phone is simple for emergencies

  • mer456 says:

    I just found your blog and I love it! I also don’t have a smart phone and don’t plan to. The monthly fee, to me at least, is simply not worth it. I am however, going to invest in an ipod touch soon (using credit card points, so it’s free). That is an option.

    If the smartphone does everything you want it to and you feel good about paying for it, then definitely go for it. They are awfully convenient.

  • Sarah says:

    Hi Bethany
    I’m new to this blog. I’m just wondering…why exactly do you need all those things you listed? Why does it cause you stress and anguish not to have them?
    Just curious.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Modern Minimalist at What's a Type A Minimalist?.

meta

